• search

About Us


Just Reinvest NSW was formed because a small group of people were deeply concerned about the significant number of Aboriginal children and young people being locked up.

They formed a coalition and since May 2012, have been working hard to let people know about justice reinvestment and why it should become policy in NSW.

In 2013 they formed Just Reinvest NSW as an independent, non-profit, membership-based, incorporated association, with one paid part-time employee.

In 2013 Just Reinvest NSW began working with the Bourke community  in north-west NSW on the first major justice reinvestment trial in Australia, the Maranguka Justice Reinvestment Project. Four positions based in Bourke are assisted by the Vincent Fairfax Family Foundation, the Dusseldorp Forum, Cages Foundation, St Vincent de Paul Society Foundation and the Cameron Foundation.

There are now more than 20 organisations actively engaged in Just Reinvest NSW as members or sponsors, with additional individuals and organisations providing in-kind or volunteer support.

Just Reinvest NSW is auspiced by the Aboriginal Legal Service (NSW/ACT) Ltd who also provide valuable in-kind support.

How we fit together

Just Reinvest NSW is governed by an Executive Committee and a Strategic Directions Committee. The Strategic Directions Committee is comprised of representatives from our member organisations. The Executive Committee is elected by our members at each AGM.

Executive Committee


Just Reinvest NSW

  • Nicole Mekler, Coordinator (2.5 days)
  • Jo Lunzer, Coordinator (2.5 days)

Maranguka Justice Reinvestment Project

  • Alistair Ferguson, Executive Director
  • Vivianne Prince, Project Officer
  • Kristy Kennedy, Backbone Coordinator
  • Skye Bullen, Community Data Manager


We are very grateful to the following sponsors.

Youth AmbassadorsJR Youth Ambassadors


Our champions help spread the word about justice reinvestment.


Our supporters help quietly in the background.

  • Mr Adam Goodes
  • Mr Alan Cameron AM
  • Mr Lindon Coombes
  • Mr Graham West
  • Dr Chris Sarra
  • Mr Peter Stapleton
  • Mr Jack Thompson
  • Claerwen Little
  • Garner Clancey


A current list of our organisational members.

  • Aboriginal Child, Family and Community Care State Secretariat (NSW)
  • Aboriginal Education Council (NSW) Inc
  • Aboriginal Medical Service Cooperative Limited
  • Amnesty International
  • ANTaR
  • Ashurst
  • Australian Indigenous Alpine Sports Foundation
  • Australian Red Cross
  • Community Legal Centres NSW
  • First Hand Solutions
  • Gilbert + Tobin
  • Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Kingsford Legal Centre
  • Lifestyle Solutions
  • Network of Alcohol and other Drug Agencies
  • Oxfam
  • Public Interest Advocacy Centre
  • Save the Children
  • Shopfront Youth Legal Service
  • Show Me the Way
  • Uniting Care NSW ACT
  • Weave
  • Whitelion
  • Youth Action
  • Youth Justice Coalition

Corporate Documents